2021 Frostbite Awards

Please mark your calendars – 4:30pm 22 May 2021 – Frostbite drink-up and awards presentation.  Please bring yourself and your significant.  It will be hosted at 3 Champlin Terrace, Middletown.  More formal notice will be sent out a little closer to the date.  We will be outside to maintain COVID rules.  Bring what you want to drink.  No potluck this year but should you want cheese or crackers etc. please bring what you want to eat.

2021 Frostbite

Frostbite starts 1 January at the Newport Yacht Club.  After this we race every Sunday, except Easter Sunday, until the middle of April (19th).  We start setting up the boats at 1130.  We typically have two classes, A and B.  Position from previous weeks racing determines what class one is put in.  There actually is a C Class however they never leave the bar!  We typically rotate the classes; Class A races with Class B running the race, then Class B races with Class A running the race, etc.

COVID-19 and 2021 racing

Hopefully this finds you safe and healthy during this long year.  The NYC Frostbite Committee is working hard to pull together a plan so we can sail this January given the restrictions that are in place for COVID.  For that to happen, the following changes will be in place for the 2021 season: 

1. COVID – Masks, Distancing and Facility Restrictions:

COVID requirements will be in place.  Due to COVID and expected limitations, Frostbite sailors will not be able to use the Main Deck as in the past – this is limited to NYC members only. Once on the property, masks are on and physical distancing are required.  Access to the Club will be limited to designated areas only.  In past years, the Main Deck has been used as our gathering area but due to COVID, Club operations have been significantly altered so Frostbiters will have to use another designated area (still in the works). We are working on the details of what this may look like and we hope to provide more details about this piece very soon.   

2. Registration – BIG CHANGE: 

In past years, there have been many sailors that sign up but do not show up consistently. We are looking to provide more on-the-water time for those that due commit to sailing up every week.  We anticipate our numbers being down due COVID impacts but we still need to cap the number of sailors in order to maintain safety. So, we are placing maximum registration to 30 registants.   We have a finite number of boats –  (12), two divisions, 12 boats each.  The last 2 or 3 seasons we have sailed three fleets on many Sundays and that has strained the resources of the club and the ‘on-the-water sailing’ time when so many sailors show up.  Consequently, after looking at the number of people who qualified last season and the number of NYC members in the fleet, sign-up priorities will be in place accordingly: (A) NYC members and (B) qualifiers from last season. (C) Remaining spots on a first-come-first-serve basis:

(A) First priority – 4 to 9 December will be offered to Newport Yacht members only. 
(B) Second priority – 10 December until 14 December will be offered to those who qualified in the 2020 season. 
(C) Third priority – 15 to 20 December will be offered on a first come, first serve basis until 30 qualified registrants have been received. Registration will close 20 December or when 30 registrants have been received.

3. Online Registration –  Fees

We are working on the website to have it ready by 4 December – please do not hit the website now and try to register – you will jeopardize your ability to register for the season.  The fees remain the same as last year however we are planning on not pay at registration but when you come in on 1 January 2021.

NYC Member: $100.00
Non-Member Resident: $175
Non-Member/Non-Resident: $200

As we are generally an informal group, we may have to tighten things a bit as the Frostbite Committee will do everything possible to get the season started safely on 1January.  Participants should anticipate many audibles in order to keep sailing.  

Hope to see you out there,
Frostbite Committee
FJ Ritt, Chair
Bea Grimmitt
Winkle Kelley

Turnabout Ad from the 1950s! Courtesy of Joe Slawinski.

Rules of Sailing Articles

There are a bunch of good articles about the Racing Rules Of Sailing on the Sailing World Magazine website.

How to roll up the new Turnabout (N-10) sails!

Frostbite fleet 7 March 2021 thanks to Randy Shore

No Fee will be charged during registration. Fee will be collected on 1 Jan 2021.

Registration is over!


Sailing Instructions and Amendment
Waiver form required for entrants under 18.  Download, fill out and submit to Frostbite chairman. 


2021 Results

SummaryJan 1Jan 3Jan 10Jan 31Feb 14Feb 21Mar 7Mar 21Apr 11Apr 18


18 April – Last day of the 2021 season.  Jon Thurston finished it in stile though not necessarily all his fault.  His shroud got caught on someone else’s boom, broke the mast and caused him to turtle.  And that was the end of the season!
What a great day to end the season – solid breeze from the South/SouthWest, 15-17knts, 7 races, and still time to pull the masts and booms!
Great day for Sue Besse racking up 3 bullets! David Reed just missed catching Bea Grimmitt for 2nd overall. Newbie Peter Fernberger showed signs of speed from his younger days in Marblehead – he will be a force next season.  Chris Tate had a solid day with a 2,3,2. He’ll be tough to beat this summer in the J105!  And the father – daughter battle of Rob and Maggie Schult did a great job beating each other up with Maggie poised to crush us all in the last race til the dreaded outhaul car broke…Great recovery of our mast casualty in the last B race. The sail was saved and the mast will be stripped for parts for the new one.  Thank You all for the great pack-up of the boats and gear.  Everybody pitched in and made the wrap-up quick!

28 March – Really strong winds.  Canceled.

21 March – Light winds but they got 8 races in.  SE about 7 knots.

14 March – Jeremiah Lowe did a complete turtle.  Winds easily puffing over 20 knots.  Canceled.

7 March – Light wind but sunny day.  Winds started out of the NE to N and switched to the SW for the last races.

28 February – No racing due to lack of wind.

21 February – A fleet was the last race due to dying breeze.  Nice sunny day though.

14 February – Paul Fleming went swimming again…this time he even flipped the boat too!  To his credit he went home, changed and came back to finish the day.  Rick Nebiolo sailed in the B fleet for the first time ever..and it worked until he pulled a 9th in the last race.

Past Results

Pre 2019 Frostbite Results

2021 Frostbite Skippers + 1
2021 Frostbite Skippers
2020 Frostbite Skippers
Dr. Charlie Shoemaker
(FOUNDED 1953)
2021FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2020Rick NebioloSusan Besse
2019FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2018FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2017Rick NebioloMissy Hudspeth
2016Rick NebioloBea Grimmitt
2015Adam CoveBrenda Mitchell
2014Rick NebioloKate Wilson 
2013FJ RittSuzy Harrington
2012FJ RittKate Wilson 
2011FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2010FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2009FJ RittWinkle Kelley
2008FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2007FJ RittBea Grimmitt
2006Roy GuayBea Grimmitt
2005Chris BradyBea Grimmitt
2004Roy GuayBea Grimmitt
2003Charles ShoemakerBea Grimmitt
2002Roy GuayBea Grimmitt
2001Roy GuayBea Grimmitt
2000Roy GuayWinkle Kelley
1999Charles ShoemakerRebekah Eddy
1998Roy GuayLaura Slye
1997Charles ShoemakerWinkle Kelley
1996Charles ShoemakerRachel Sanders
1995Charles ShoemakerRachel Sanders
1994Charles ShoemakerMona L’Heureux
1993Charles ShoemakerPam Kirk
1992George KirkSarah Horowitz
1991George KirkPam Kirk
1990Matthew CorbishleyPam Kirk
1989Geoffrey EwensonEllen McMahon
1988Charles ShoemakerBetsy McClintock
1987Charles Shoemaker
1970Robert Morton 
1969Michael Medeiros 
1968Michael Medeiros 
1967Michael Medeiros 
1966Michael Medeiros 
1965David Del Nero 
1964Henry L. Spingler
1963Peter Herman
1962Charles Laroue 
1961Charles Laroue 
1960Charles Laroue 
1959Thomas Dawson